Tasty Cute Crochet

I get most of my books from the library, and last week, I found Tasty Cute by Annie Obaachan.

Attracted by the cupcakes on the cover, I checked it out.

Inside, there are a number of projects like sushi or little candies. Aren’t they cute?

It’s common for people to make these as cat toys. (Fill them with catnip!) However, there are things that I don’t understand. Example:

I guess, you could just frame it? But framed pizza doesn’t seem too appealing… and crochet is about the texture, especially on something as 3D as this. :/ I don’t really know why.

But again, at least you could frame it. The most bizarre project is the salad:

(I couldn’t find a scan online, so I took a picture with my laptop camera, which isn’t that good. Sorry for the low quality.)

You can’t frame that salad, because every leaf, tomato, onion, and egg is a separate piece. In the picture, all these pieces are placed into a wooded salad bowl and you can literally toss it.

I suppose these would all be quite useful for a child’s toy kitchen. This way they’d only put pieces of yarn into their mouths, instead of choke-hazard small plastic pieces.

Would you make a crocheted salad?

4 Comments

Filed under amigurumi, crochet books

4 responses to “Tasty Cute Crochet

  1. I’m a little baffled by the entire idea of crocheted food to be honest. I suppose they can be used as centre pieces in living rooms and what not or maybe like the cupcakes could be added to a keyring, but I’d rather have the real stuff!

  2. Pingback: Motif Monday: Cupcakes!! | HIJinKs Crochet

  3. H.A.

    Hi! I had to comment even though this is old post. I was searching internet for foods to crochet for my daughter as christmas present and found your blog. In my experience crocheted foods are used as toys by kids playing home.

Leave a Reply

