50th Anniversary, Big Project

Next month is my grandparents’ 50th wedding anniversary, also known as the golden anniversary. Huge milestone! I thought that as a gift I could crochet a nice blanket for them.

Here is a rough sketch of the project:

It will be a mini-granny square blanket that’s 32×26 squares or 832 squares. Each square is about 2″. Doing the math, I’m going to have to crochet at least 20 squares a day to complete it by Oct. 19. Go go go!! If I had known it was their anniversary sooner, I might have started earlier and had less cramming. That blue square afghan I was working on: on hold.

Yellow is the obvious choice for “gold,” and red is a lucky color in China. Orange is also kind of a golden color (maybe?), but mainly, my mom thought that a bright red and yellow blanket was too, well, bright. By the way, for the yellow, I bought the Caron One Pound yarn; it is HUGE.

5 Comments

Filed under Afghan, Projects

5 responses to “50th Anniversary, Big Project

  1. how sweet of you! Can’t wait to see how it comes out.

  2. Oh my goodness–what a wonderful (and ambitious) project! Best of luck–excited to see the end result!

  3. Pingback: S&T Sunday: 50th Anniversary Update | HIJinKs Crochet

Leave a Reply

