Etsy & May 2014 Yarnbox

I opened an Etsy shop this week! I was pondering doing it or not for a while, but I’m going to take the risk. I’m also going to try to do more craft shows this year too. When I did that craft show last December, a lot of people didn’t actually buy anything, but they did ask if I sold stuff online (probably so they could use their credit card). I’m hoping that I can use the craft shows to promote the shop. πŸ˜€ The link is at the top of the page and here:Β https://www.etsy.com/shop/HijinksCrochet.

Now, not sure why, but my Yarnbox has liked to arrive on rainy days lately. Should I expect it next month too? It’ll be a weather predictor!

may 2014 yarnbox

I’m not necessary disappointed with the yarn this month. It is very good yarn, but when I heard about the other possible yarn: Hampden Hills’ Alpaca Silk, my reaction was: “PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE!! [open box]…. Awwwww.” This yarn that I got is Cherry Tree Hills sock yarn. The color is Riverbank and it is made of 100% merino. They don’t sell direct, so you’ll have to check your local yarn store (none in RI, sadly). The color looks like a muted version of the yarn I’m working with in my Tunisian crochet project. It’s 420 yards each, which is perfect to start another project!

For other things, Cherry Tree Hills/Potluck Yarn has included a code for a free pattern: SECRETS, on their shop site. Looks like a lot of sock patterns, but there’s others too. Hampden Hills also gave a discount of 15% from their shop, and I get a small packet of detergent.

Like all the other boxes, there were two featured designers this month, but I only got one info card. The card is for crochet designer Taylor Tengelsen, who has a free sock pattern this month. I wonder if it’s because I picked crochet, that I don’t get the card for the other featured designer: Jessica Larson with a free knitted cowl pattern.

Happy crocheting!

6 Comments

Filed under Misc., Yarnbox

6 responses to “Etsy & May 2014 Yarnbox

  1. Congrats on starting an Etsy shop! it’s so funny your reaction to the yarnbox, because mine was the exact opposite – I read the options and hoped for the sock yarn, and was so excited when I saw it! If I had gotten the alpaca, I’d have offered to trade with you. LOL!

  2. Merino makes lovely socks at least the yarn I had with lots of merino in it did. Good Luck with your Etsy shop!

  3. YAY for you! Best of luck with your shop πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

