Yarn Winder

For my birthday, my sister gave me a yarn winder because I asked. I also got a waffle maker and that was awesome.

Anyway, I decided to test out the winder. This is what it looks like:

20150724_224745

It’s a standard yarn winder, I guess. I’m not too familiar with them as I’ve always done it by hand.

The thing is I don’t have a swift. So, I improvised. I tried some free hand weights, but that was good. They kept falling over. I had my boyfriend hold the yarn while I winded it, and it worked fine, but he’s not always around to help with that. Then I tried some chairs.

Snapchat--4305126573108693118

The chair legs were maybe too long? It was okay. I’m debating if I should get a swifter. Anyone have experience with this kind of thing?

This is what the ball of yarn turned out to be:

20150724_224739

It’s okay? I mean, it’s usable and won’t get tangled anymore (hopefully).

Until next time, happy crocheting!

3 Comments

Filed under Yarn

3 responses to “Yarn Winder

  1. Hi there! My name is Lola Anderson aka LolaByrdie, and I’ve been thinking about getting a swift and ball winder. I’ve done all mine by hand before, and end up cutting the yarn where it tangles so I can untangle it. Beautiful yarn deserves better treatment. Please blog about using the swift and winder.
    Peace, blessings and joy!

  2. A swift will make quick work of winding the yarn into a cake. I have used my swift without a winder like when I have an impossibly tangled skein. but I never have used the winder without the swift. They just go together like peanut butter and jelly or milk and cookies. Separately they are good but together they are marvelous

Leave a Reply

